Skip to main content

Arkansas Award for Aspirations in Computing

Posted Date: 05/10/2023

Arkansas Award for Aspirations in Computing

The Department of Information Systems (ISYS) at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville Arkansas visited LHS today and presented the Arkansas Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC). Award recipients are selected for their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. Aspirations in Computing is a talent development initiative designed to increase female participation in technology careers by providing encouragement, visibility, community, leadership opportunities, scholarships, and internships to aspiring technically inclined young women.


Julia Owen was awarded the Student Aspiration in Computing Award. This award for AiC honors 9th-12th grade women for their computing-related achievements and interests, and encourages them to pursue their passions. Award recipients are selected based on their aptitude and aspirations in technology and computing, as demonstrated by their computing experience, computing-related activities, leadership experience, tenacity in the face of barriers to access, and future plans.

Mrs. Jennifer Teague was awarded the Educator Aspiration in Computing Award. This award identifies exemplary formal and informal educators who play a pivotal role in encouraging 9th-12th grade women to explore their interests in computing and technology. The award recognizes these educators for their efforts to promote gender equity in computing.